Get Yours or Go Home…

The Life and Times of Grandpa Parm & Scheme-On

“You’re Alright Larusso”

I can’t imagine somebody actually saying outloud,”Yo, that movie sucked”, when talking about John Avildsen’s “The Karate Kid”, but I am sure it’s happened.  Personally, I grew up watching that movie like it was the only movie we had.  I think I’ve seen it seriously a thousand times.  Actually it was part of my father’s ‘old’ collection on beta including titles such as, “The Boy Who Could Fly”, “North Shore”, “Lucas”, and “Top Gun”.  Classic films from the decade known only as “The 80’s”, that should be recognized for the greatness they so closely resemble.  I mention this only because, when I showed “The Karate Kid” to my girl for her first time, she couldn’t stop talking about how good it was.  I had never considered if it was a good movie because I know every word and have always thought it was great.  I think back to when the movie first came out, and I can’t remember because I was three, but I imagined it started many conversations in bars that year.  Even if people didn’t think it was the greatest movie they ever saw, it still has a certain value to it that will last forever.  I could not believe my girl liked it, because she generally doesn’t like 80’s movies that I watch.  It shows how truly amazing “The Karate Kid” is as film that impacts people’s lives even 24 years after it was made.  My brother-in-law still quotes Mr. Miyagi almost on a daily basis.  So, give it up for Daniel Larusso and download “The Karate Kid” for your enjoyment.  Bonzai!!  Bonzai!!

-Parm

September 21, 2008 - Posted by | Film | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Wax on, Wax Off mothafucka!!!

    Comment by Scheme-On | September 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. great drama, great action, great soundtrack….. to bad no sex scenes, but thats why its for all age groups…. Daniel Son also sports that Charger jersey reppn’ Daygo from day one baby! Karate Kid 2 its my second favorite movie. r.i.p. Mr. Miagi

    Comment by JCHM. | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. I don’t think I can ever walk into the ocean, while waves are crashing down on me, and not try to practice my Karate. Here’s a little KK trivia: the guy who played Dutch (curly blonde-haired Cobra Kai – who in my opinion was the most evil of the Kai; let us remember that when they were kicking Daniel’s ass on Halloween and Bobby is trying to tell everyone that maybe they should ease up, Dutch gets in Johnny’s ear telling him to keep on going) was the son of the one and only Steve McQueen.

    “Hey, what kind of belt do you have?”
    “Canvas. J.C. Penny. Three ninety-eight. You like.”

    Comment by J-Bird | September 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

